Baselight vs Davinci Resolve

Bledar Cili Nov 12, 2016

1. Hi everyone. I want to ask you which soft is the best in film industry for color grading Baselight or Davinci.I have been using Davinci for 5 years and now I'm interested to work with Baselight as well.
    Thank you in advance.

2. ford -vs- chev
    fender -vs- gibson
    pc -vs- mac

the list can go on for quite a while...

the cost of getting into Baselight enough to get familar with it's tools is very low now (MC +BLE =$1,300 i think) and then you can make your own evaluation based on your workflows, clients and needed ROI

Ken Sirulnick likes this.
  3. To me, the choice of software is as personal as anything else in life. Some prefer one, while some prefer another. Personally, I base the question of the choice of software not on a "which soft is the best in film industry for color grading", but mostly on the project itself. I take a look at the project before me and then I decide which grading platform I am going to use for that particular project. It's like painter who chooses to use acrylics or oils, pencil, graphite or mixed media. The choices are there and, so far, still aplenty- Lutsre, Mistika, Baselight, Resolve, Nucoda, with some are better at some thing, than the others...

Jason Myres likes this.
  4. Dermot put it really well, there really isn't a simple answer to this question.

Like he also suggested download the trial and see if it works for you and your workflow. I would also recommend giving Nucoda a try too. DV offers a free trial and it's the full blown application.

In my experience Baselight and Nucoda both take a much more finessed and precise approach to color grading. Both companies want to offer the best color grading tools and put color and the colorist first. I would say both have color tools that are very forward thinking and work really well.