Before and After Grades of my First Project in Resolve - Comments?

Discussion in 'Showcase' started by Dave Dugdale, Jul 2, 2013.

1. Dave Dugdale

Message Count:
    This is my first project in Resolve and I thought I would share if others are interested how a beginner grades his projects.

This was shot on a Canon 5D3 and T2i.

All comments welcome.

Here is the promo video: (password is 'Dave')

Masoud Mardan likes this.
  2. Pepijn Klijs

Message Count:
    Looks great! Good job!

Only comment I have is for the handheld interview shots. It moves so little it's sort of in between hand held and tripod. I would have tried to stabilize them.

And, one more, the grass you call nuclear is easily fixed by taking it more towards yellow.

Well done!
    Pepo
  3. Dave Dugdale

Message Count:
    Thanks Pepo, that means a lot coming from a colorist. I will pull the grass more towards yellow and look at stabilizing the handheld shots.
  4. Margus Voll

Message Count:
    I would grade or shoot next time differently this talking head part.

What i mean is "natural" skin does not do justice to the person.

Outside she feels more "balanced" and pleasant in skin tones. In studio face pops out more compared
    to chest area and cheeks, around eyes there is a lot of variations.

You could key them out and try to balance but good makeup on set would help a lot.

We had a shoot where the character refused from make up and it turned out like this:

balance.jpg

Can not say that i enjoyed the grading part and the result :D

This is still from raw image.
  5. Dave Dugdale

Message Count:
    Thanks guys, many times I will over saturate the skin to see what I am dealing with but forget to back it down. I will try backing down the skin tone saturation and then push it warmer. I was struggling with those green and yellow tints in her skin, I think it is because I pushed the saturation too much.
  6. Margus Voll

Message Count:
    make up should help there a lot.