RED Rocket prep

Joe Riggs Jul 21, 2015

1. Hello,

I'll be using a thunderbolt external RED rocket in a couple weeks. I've never used one before and just want to avoid any potential pitfalls. Setup specs, 3.4 GHz core i7, 24GB ram, GTX 680MX.

Does my setup need any drivers to run the rocket, other than the RED Rocket installer?

Any settings need to be enabled or disabled in RED Cine X?

What kind of speeds should I expect with my setup and the rocket when transcoding RED 5k footage, real time or slower?

Thanks

2. Can a Red Rocket even run in an external thunderbolt enclosure? That's news to me. Have you talked to Red about this?

You might be better off just buying an older desktop Mac with PCI slots and using that just for dailies, since the board will drop right in.

3. I'm not convinced it will work.

4. Really, why? Surely there would be tremendous blowback on forums if the product didn't work.

5. Jason Myres

Jason Myres Moderator

From the Sonnet link above....
    As far as playback, it depends on which RED Rocket you're getting. The original RED Rocket was designed for debayering RED One R3Ds, so you'll get realtime 24fps at 4K, but only around 18-20fps with 5K EPIC. Realtime with 5K requires a second card. I've never tested two cards in a Thunderbolt enclosure, but I believe it should work.

If you're getting a RED Rocket-X, that will give you faster than realtime even with Dragon 6K as long as your CPU and storage don't create a bottleneck. However, a lot of this has become a moot point now that GPU de-bayering offers the same performance for the cost of a better (GTX 780, 980) video card.

Once you get the card, you'll just need to install the RED Rocket driver and possibly update the firmware depending on which version is on it.

https://www.red.com/downloads/4f56854d6261f95a57000669

6. The Thunderbolt interface will also handicap the RR-X. So you still wouldn't get RT 6K. RT 5K might be possible.

7. According to their comparability chart: